151MC: Presentation of final images

My original intention for presenting my final body of work was in a book which I would of made myself. However after making many versions of the book layout in Adobe InDesign I was struggling to ensure that the book layout worked properly. My original plan for the book was to make it 8×10 inches and for the images to be printed single sided on matte paper. However after speaking to my tutor about this idea he suggested that I try french fold binding and getting the images printed double sided as this would ensure the book opened better and that the images were not all right aligned.

I enquired at the print bureau to see if it was possible to print on the matte paper and also be double sided. Unfortunately I was told that this was not possible and this meant I would of had to redesign the whole book layout as well as getting test prints and final prints before I bound it together. However I had not allocated enough time for a mistake like this to happen and therefore I opted to get the book printed by a third party publishing company.

I designed the layout and sequencing of images using InDesign, before I put the images into InDesign I printed them out and experimented with different parings. I also asked for other peoples opinions on which images they thought I should include in the book. This process was in some ways ruthless as I had shot hundreds of images however I was only going to print a selection of them.

book layout

After receiving the book I was disappointed with some aspects of it.  I opted for a softcover as I did not want the book to feel to un-natural or overly formal. I liked the way Paul Gaffney presented his images for his series We Make the Path by Walking. The cover has a slight shine to it and I did want a matte cover like in his book. In addition, the weight of the book is very light and it is very thin. On the other hand the quality and colour match of the images are very good. If I was to order from this company again I would add more pages and also opt for a hardback cover even if it is more expensive. When asking other people for their opinion of my book they said that they liked how it felt like a mini guide or a case study of the North York Moors.

Below is the final book for my assingment.

234 _1810612 6 _1810621 _1810624 _1810628_1810629_1810630

After looking at many photo books for inspiration for my layout, I found the book Infra by Richard Mosse particularly interesting to read. The context and information about his body of work was written at the back of the book and therefore I decided to do this for my book. It allows the viewer to have an unbiased point of view when reading the book and interoperate the images in their own way. If I gave context at the beginning of the book I feel that it could take away the ambiguity of my images.

In the afterword it reads “The North York Moors are an area of outstanding natural beauty and have been a national park since 1952. While the landscape appears to be natural, large expanses of it are heavily managed by humans for agriculture, tourism and recreational uses. Therefore making many of the habitats semi-natutral, in particular the heather moorlands. The heather is periodically burnt in rotations in order to provide a habitats for Red Grouse, a bird which is vital to the hunting industry. An industry that many farmers rely on for additional income. By burning the heather before it can reach its next stage of succession it creates a plagioclimax and therefore prevents woodland from returning to the moors. The results are a patchwork landscape of different aged heather, burnt vegetation and pockets of woodland. The clearance of the remaining woodland for grazing and agriculture has resulted in great expanses of ancient woodland being lost. This has significantly reduced the biodiversity in the area, destroyed habitats and caused the fragmentation of species. We perceive these areas of conservation to be immune from human development however we are still continuing to exploit its resources and alter the land. Within this book I aimed to show how humans have left their mark on the natural landscape, even in areas of conservation. We are continuing to develop in these areas, which has left the landscape with the remnants of our intervention.”

I have learnt a lot from this experience and for my future projects I am going to consider the final presentation of my images closer to the start of the project as this gives me time to consider many other presentation options.

Published by

Charlotte Pattinson

Photography student

Leave a Reply

