151MC: Considering Presentation Methods

The overall presentation of my images are important. Looking back on the lecture we had in November last year called ‘Considering Presentation’ it reinforced how important the overall presentation of my work is.

The lecture brought up the work of the German Philosopher Hans-Georg Gadamer and his work on Horizons. Simplified, Gadamer proposes that different people have different horizons and ways of viewing things because they all have different backgrounds, knowledge, educations and therefore attitudes. This can create bias and prejudice and affect the way in which a person receives and reacts to something. Within photography this can split into the artist and the viewer.

The artists has a different horizon to the viewer. They have an extensive knowledge of their own body of work and an agenda. Whereas the viewer only has their own memory, knowledge and experiences. Therefore in order for me to convey my message it is important that the presentation method I choose reinforces the communication of this theme or message.

Important things to consider with my presentation:

  • Title of body of work
  • Image titles
  • Artist statement
  • Accompanying text
  • Paper size/type
  • Borders
  • Sequencing and arrangement of images
  • Overall presentation manner

For the final presentation of my images I am considering making a book.  One option is making this book myself. In order to do this I have began researching into different binding techniques, different paper types and how to use InDesign to create the book.

Japanese Stab Binding

There are many variations to this binding technique and each of them produce a different effect. One of the variations I have been looking into is called hemp leaf, it is more intricate than the simple ‘noble’ pattern however I think that it makes the book look more expensive and higher quality therefore I am considering using this binding technique.

Hemp Leaf Pattern
Hemp Leaf Pattern (image 1)
Nobel Pattern

This is the basic Japanese Stab binding technique. Although it is much simpler than the hemp leaf pattern I believe that this will still work well with my body of work as my images are reflecting the organic nature of the land. I want the overall appearance and aesthetic of my book to look natural and not overly gimmicky or on the other hand too stark.

Paper Types and Size

I want my book to be able to be held closely so the viewer can get up close the images and interact with them, therefore creating an intimate viewing experience. If the book was any bigger than A4 I believe that this would be experience would be lost and the images would be less impactful. By creating a book it will allow my audience to view my images for a longer period of time and in a less formal manner. This is something which would not happen if I were to display my work in a gallery.

The paper is also an important element in the presentation of my book. I want the overall quality of my book to be high and long lasting. Therefore the paper should not be thin and not tear easily. The paper I aim to use should be anywhere between 140 and 180 gsm and should have a matte finish. After looking at many photo books I believe that the matte finish to the images makes it appear more natural and this is something I want my book replicate.

In addition to this in order to draw attention to the images and the issues I am raising in my work I want the overall layout of my book to be minimalistic but also not too stark that the images look out of place.

I looked through a number of books to get inspiration for the style of book I wanted to produce and the layout.

Design Devision

One of the books I found while researching into different paper types used in photo books was a book called London by Xenia McBell who documented London. The idea behind the small size is that it reminds the viewer of a journal and something they would keep in their pocket when travelling. The way the images are laid out make them resemble post cards. This allows increased flexibility in the reading process and due to this freedom the book becomes an interactive object and actively involves the viewer. This concept is something that I would like to include in my work, not necessarily the rotating of the pages but the size of the images and the border around them.  In addition to this, the images are printed on thick matte paper.

Another book I am taking inspiration from is We Make the Path by Walking by Paul Gaffney. The way the images are laid out and the size of the white border around the images varies a lot throughout the book. The use of double page spreads, full bleed images all adds to the way in which the images are viewed. The use of blank pages also creates a break and allows the viewer to consider the previous image more. Again this is something which I will take into consideration when designing my book.

References:

Published by

Charlotte Pattinson

Photography student

Leave a Reply

